Media Sponge’s Lament

Standard

I spend a lot of time reading. I read books, blogs, articles, tweets and a ton of other things. I watch TV and movies, and I pay attention to the things that go on around me. I listen to talk radio (split motivation between entertainment and masochism) when I’m driving, and I read from my kindle or my blackberry when I’m in line or on the subway. I am constantly absorbing input, and probably knocking out previously ingested data in the process.

But as interesting as I find everything (or mostly everything) I pay attention to, it’s not where my passion lies. Like many people out there, I have a desire to create. I want to produce something. I want to do something active instead of having things be done to me.

It’s not easy. The gravitational pull of stagnation and status quo encourages me to sit down on the couch and watch TV; to troll the blogs for something that might be remotely interesting; to turn myself into a media sponge.

I’m doing it right now by contributing to the millions (?) of blog posts that are written each day. I hope this is only the beginning, but I find that by simply writing something and putting it out there for people to read is a step in the right direction.

One thought on “Media Sponge’s Lament

  1. Extenze

    It sounds like you’re creating problems yourself by trying to solve this issue instead of looking at why their is a problem in the first place.

Leave a Reply

